Pieces of Gray


Pieces of Gray

There’s a patchwork out there, somewhere

Created by my mind and my scars

Embroidered by my pain and my confusion

There’s a patchwork out there,

I know it.

 

Each triangle, which makes a square are moments of sorrow

Moments of madness and scratching memories

And they are gray

 

Pieces of me, the gray ones

The ones I want to forget

The ones that slither thru my thoughts during the day

And sit on my chest at night.

 

Pieces of gray

Murky and silently stitched during long talks about my ability to cope

‘And how are we feeling today?’

Gray

 

Despite the triangles and squares and stitching

I must continue to remember, that they are only pieces

Not a continual sheet, but pieces

And if I look close enough, if I squint my eyes almost shut

 

I may see blue or red and maybe green

And sometimes yellow…

 

DIH 7/24/14

Leave a Reply

