Mirror/Self


Mirror/self

 

If I pull this mask on tight enough

Will it reflect what you want?

Will it show you what you desire?

Will I be accepted and not judged?

 

Straining at edges, skipping all thought

I reach for an image in a magazine

Am I too fat? Am I too tall?

What and who do I desire to be?

 

This runs too deep

Carved and stretching as a canyon

Dissatisfied with life and its gifts

I want more!

 

Mirrors don’t lie

I’ve ducked them, smashed them and discarded them

So many imperfections

So many visual faults

Never satisfied, never happy

 

Picture perfect people walk my streets with airbrushed skin

Are they as beautiful thru and thru and within?

Leave a Reply

