Someone’s Got To Clean it Up


Someone’s Got To Clean It Up

 

At FOUR A.M

I wake to dreams

Violent with endless meaning

 

Triggers strike my restless brain

Shockwaves pass each scaring shame of my endless passing rage

Leave me now.  Leave me now

 

I remember words once spoken

Of suicide and the ones who grieve

Of messy scenes of blood and release

 

Someone’s got to clean it up

 

Drawing streams of red stained escape

Straight lines etched up my arm again

I am lulled away slow and deep

Drifting out of pain

 

The scene I leave behind is grim

The floor is sick with my remains

Mops and buckets of waters so red

Someone’s got to clean it up

 

The gun is cocked

This will be swift

I know now it’s time to leave

 

With child’s courage the trigger is pulled

The hole it gapes beyond my sight

Don’t recall the final phase

 

The walls, the ceiling and the floor

Bits of me an abstract against blue paint

Someone’s got to clean it up

 

Tying rope around this hook

I know it’s time to go

I just hope it works as well

That I complete my wish

 

I will suffer and my neck will crack

Not an easy departure

Either way, the choice is mine

I leave it all for someone else

I’ve had enough

I need to rest

 

Someone’s got to clean it up

 

To cut me down from here

Someone’s got to lift my body

And lay me on the floor

 

Either way, it’s never over

It remains and lingers on

The visions others repeat in the minds

The aching pull of the heart

 

You have left the physical

The stains, the rope and the splatter

 

They remain

 

And someone’s got to clean it up

Leave a Reply

