Monsters


Monsters

 I-INNOCENCE

Nursery rhymes

Horror films and tatter yellow edged comics

Filled my childhood with rotted tales

Visions creeping as I slept

 

You search your bed

Peer underneath, with heart beats rushing thru your skin

 

Darkness hides unseen things

Imagination creates them

 

Pretend, fantasy and invisible dreams

They tickle the curiosity in me

As a child, I took delight in tales from darker worlds

 

Mummies wrapped in aged bandages

Limping towards my throat

Vampire eyes; entangling me, sexless and seductive

 

When you’re young, the thrill is there

When you know that it’s not real

But monsters really do exist

II. RAPIST

He hid beneath the backdoor stairs

He watched me more than once

Deciding if the time was right

And if he would get caught

III – PRIEST

I confessed to him, my deepest dreams

My sins and hopes to which I aspire

Betrayed his faith, betrayed my word

As he took me from behind

III – KIDNAPPED

Locked me away, removed my tongue

Sliced thru my innocent veil

Battered me, invaded me

Broke me

IV – RACIST

He looks at my skin

My eyes, my sex

Decides that I am not human

That I am not like him or her

And hates me just for being

They mock me

Ostracize me

Forbid me

VI – THE APPEARANCE

Normal man, normal woman

Living as society dictates

Perfect lives, ideal homes

Secret in their habits

VII – SERIAL KILLER

Floorboards creak, odors rise

The dog is barking loudly

The devil talks thru its baneful eyes

It’s time to kill again

VIII – LOST INNOCENCE

The things I fear

(As grey hairs have become so common)

Are the people I have encountered

 

They live in the tiniest hamlet

And in every Gotham

 

They walk the streets in three-piece suits

In blue jeans and in sneakers

 

Always dressed in Sunday’s best

With smiles as they greet you

 

You turn your head and there they are

Pouring afternoon tea

 

The Pedophiles

The Rapists

The Homophobes

The Bigots

 

The Serial Killers

The Sneaky Uncle

The Minister

The Preacher

 

Wandering eyes and hands

Hateful venomous statements

Destroying all in their path

 

Preventing you from life and love

Scarring your soul too deep to heal

 

Worse than any wolf bite

Or Vampire’s fanged kiss

 

Monsters don’t hide under beds

Live in haunted houses or sewers beneath your feet

 

Oh yes, I learned so long ago

When innocence was broken

 

MONSTERS, really do exist

They are red blooded, flesh and bone.

Leave a Reply

